21
February
Immunohematology: Principles and Practice - Eva D. QuinleyIf your Med Tech and Med Lab Tech students buy one book this should be it! The second edition of this respected text provides a well-rounded introduction to immunohematology that includes superior explanations of procedures. Utilizing an easy-to-read, user-friendly format, the text successfully conveys the complex principles and practices of blood banking. Following a clear progression from basic to complex concepts, coverage more than meets the most current requirements of the AABB. Actual work experience references provide an accurate look at the field. New in this edition: 3 New Chapters --
21
February
Modern Portfolio Theory and Investment Analysis - Edwin J. Elton, Martin J. Gruber, Stephen J. Brown, William N. GoetzmannModern Portfolio Theory and Investment Analysis An update of a classic book in the field, Modern Portfolio Theory examines the characteristics and analysis of individual securities as well as the theory and practice of optimally combining securities into portfolios. Full description
21
February
CLEP Official Study Guide - College Entrance Examination BoardEvery year, students save countless hours and dollars through the College-Level Examination Program (R) (CLEP (R)). CLEP examinations allow students to demonstrate college-level knowledge, for which they can earn credit at more than 2,900 colleges and universities. The "CLEP Official Student Guide 2009," developed by the test maker, features practice questions for all 34 CLEP exams. It includes exam descriptions and test-taking tips and strategies.
21
February
America Past and Present - Robert A. Divine, T.H. Breen, George M. FredricksonAmerica Past and Present integrates the social and political dimensions of American history into one rich chronological narrative, providing students with a full picture of the scope and complexity of the American past. Writing in a lively narrative style to tell the story of all Americans–elite and ordinary, women and men, rich and poor, white majority and minorities–the authors, six active, publishing, and award-winning historians, bring history to life for introductory students. In the new 8th edition of America Past and Present, the authors have streamlined the coverage in the
21
February
The Joy Luck Club - Amy TanFor readers of Amy Tan's bestselling novel, The Valley of Amazement, revisit her classic tale of mothers and daughters Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories. In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared unspeakable loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Rather than sink into tragedy, they choose to gather to raise their spirits and money. "To despair was to wish back for something already lost. Or to
21
February
Holes - Louis Sachar"If you take a bad boy and make him dig a hole every day in the hot sun, it will turn him into a good boy." is motto for Camp Greenlake. Stanley runs away to find pal Zero. Their journey to freedom becomes a battle with hunger, thirst and heat in the shadow of Big Thumb. The mountain is entwined in the Yelnatz's unlucky history. To get there means salvation.
21
February
Odes and Epodes (Loeb Classical Library) - Horace, Niall RuddThe poetry of Horace (born 65 BCE) is richly varied, its focus moving between public and private concerns, urban and rural settings, Stoic and Epicurean thought. Here is a new Loeb Classical Library edition of the great Roman poet's Odes and Epodes, a fluid translation facing the Latin text. Horace took pride in being the first Roman to write a body of lyric poetry. For models he turned to Greek lyric, especially to the poetry of Alcaeus, Sappho, and Pindar; but his poems are set in a Roman context. His four books of odes cover a wide range of moods and topics. Some are public poems, upholding the
21
February
Mei Statistics (Mei Structured Mathematics (A+As Level)) - Roger Porkess, Alan GrahamThis series, well-known for accessibility and for a student-friendly approach, has a wealth of features: worked examples, activities, investigations, graded exercises, key points summaries and discussion points. To ensure exam success there are plenty of up-to-date exam questions, plus warning signs to indicate common pitfalls. "MEI" offer full support to schools through their network with newsletters, training days and an annual conference.
21
February
Abnormal Psychology - Thomas F. Oltmanns, Robert E. EmeryCentring on abnormal psychology, this edition features new coverage of eating disorders, multi-cultural concerns, substance abuse and addiction, and post-traumatic stress disorder. It also includes a major study on suicide and case studies.
20
February
The Practice of Statistics: TI-83/84/89 Graphing Calculator Enhanced - Dan  Yates, David S. Moore, Daren S. StarnesThe Practice of Statistics is the only high school statistics textbook that directly reflects the College Board course description for AP Statistics.  Combining the data analysis approach with the power of technology, innovative pedagogy, and a number of new features, the Third Edition is the most effective yet.